What a drawer cart is for
Bringing the tool crib to the job, and the cases where that is the wrong idea.
A tool cart earns its price by removing trips. A technician who walks from a press to the crib and back three times on one changeover has spent the time the cart was supposed to save. A cart that holds the complete kit for the job, organized so a missing tool is obvious, turns that into one trip with the cart and none during the work.
That only works if the cart holds what the job needs and moves easily when it is full. The two most common failures are opposite ones: a cart too small to carry the whole kit, so a second trip happens anyway, and a cart so heavy and wide that nobody wants to push it, so it stays parked and becomes a stationary cabinet on wheels.
Cart, stationary cabinet or service cart
Buy a drawer cart
The kit has to travel
Maintenance response, die changes, machine setups, line-side kitting. The contents go to the work and come back.
Buy a stationary cabinet
The kit stays put
Tool cribs and parts storage that are never rolled. A stationary cabinet can be taller and is anchored. See the R-Series stationary cabinet guide.
Buy a service cart
The load is loose and changes
Moving parts, cartons and totes between areas with nothing to organize. Open shelves beat drawers. See Carts, Trucks & Dollies.
This guide covers the mobile tool storage on the Modular Drawer Carts category page. For drawer cabinets that do not move, see the Rousseau R-Series Drawer Cabinets guide. For drawer storage in general, steel gauge and enclosed cabinets, see Cabinets & Modular Drawer Storage.
The four kinds of cart on this page
They look similar in a photo and solve different problems.
Everything on the category page has casters and a lock. After that the products split into four groups, and the first decision is which group you are shopping in.
| Type | Lines | Inside | Choose it when |
|---|---|---|---|
| Modular drawer carts | Rousseau R-Series (400 lb drawers), Rousseau L-Series (100 lb drawers) | Full-extension drawers in configurable heights, with or without partitions | Many small, distinct items that need their own place: tooling, inserts, gauges, fasteners |
| Steel tool carts with drawers | Strong Hold 3, 5, 6 and 12-drawer carts and the 5-TC-3D maintenance cart | Fixed drawer sets, 400 lb per drawer on most published models, heavy plate top | Maintenance carts that take abuse and double as a work surface |
| Mobile cabinets | Little Giant 48 in. mobile cabinets, Strong Hold visible and countertop cabinets | Shelves and lockable doors, one drawer or none | Bulky items, power tools in cases, secure storage that moves occasionally |
| Stainless carts | Strong Hold 4-TC-261-VS-SS, Jamco YV-Series | Stainless body and shelves | Washdown, food, pharmaceutical and other areas where painted steel corrodes or is not allowed |
Several mobile cabinets on this page have no drawers at all. The Little Giant 48 in. cabinets with locking doors, the Strong Hold visible tool storage cart and the Strong Hold countertop cabinet are shelf and door units. If what you need is compartmented drawer storage, those are the wrong product however the capacity rating compares.
400 lb or 100 lb per drawer
The Rousseau R-Series and L-Series look alike. The drawer rating is the difference.
Rousseau builds two drawer cart lines. The R-Series carries 400 lb per drawer, and Rousseau publishes that figure for its mobile drawer cabinets as well as its stationary ones. The L-Series is listed on CustomMHS as the Heavy Duty line at 100 lb per drawer, positioned as the lighter, lower-cost alternative when the drawers will not hold dense metal.
Rousseau R-Series carts
400 lb per drawer
- Widths from 24 in. to 72 in. on CustomMHS listings
- Single-bank carts and wide multi-drawer carts
- Roll-out shelf and door options on some widths
- Lifetime warranty on the drawer rolling system, per Rousseau
Rousseau L-Series carts
100 lb per drawer
- Published in 18, 36 and 54 in. widths
- 21 in. and 27 in. depths
- Heights from 29-1/4 in. to 45-1/4 in.
- Lock-In safety and central locking listed as standard
Which one you need
The test is the heaviest single drawer, not the average one. A drawer of collets, toolholders, boring heads, die components or steel fixture plates gets heavy quickly, and the drawer that holds them is the one that decides the line. If any drawer will carry dense tooling, buy the R-Series. If every drawer holds hand tools, electrical parts, consumables or light assemblies, the L-Series does the job for less.
A 400 lb drawer rating says what one drawer and its slides will carry. It does not mean a six-drawer cart can roll 2,400 lb of contents. Rousseau does not publish a total cart capacity for its drawer carts. What it does publish is the caster rating, covered in Section Eight, and that is the number the loaded cart has to stay inside.
Same footprint, different job
The two lines share widths and depths at 36 in., so a 36 in. by 21 in. L-Series cart and a 30 or 36 in. R-Series cart can sit in the same spot. Do not choose between them on footprint or price alone. A light-duty drawer loaded with heavy tooling is the kind of failure that does not show up on the day of delivery. It shows up months later as a drawer that sags, binds or will not close.
Reading a Rousseau cart model number
The same logic as the stationary cabinets, with a different series letter.
Rousseau cart model numbers encode the footprint. Learn the first five characters and you can compare quotes and listings at a glance.
R5G or R5D; L-Series carts use L3B.Worked: R5BHE-3001 is a 48 in. wide, 24 in. deep cart, 37-1/2 in. tall, with two 3 in., three 4 in. and one 8 in. drawer, partitioned. R5BHE-3002 is the same cart with open drawers.
| Code | As the width (4th character) | As the depth (5th character) |
|---|---|---|
| B | 18 in. (L-Series) | n/a |
| C | 24 in. | 18 in. |
| D | 30 in. | 21 in. |
| E | 36 in. | 24 in. |
| G | n/a | 27 in. |
| H | 48 in. | n/a |
| J | 54 in. (L-Series) | n/a |
| K | 60 in. | n/a |
So R5BDG is a 30 in. by 27 in. cart, R5BEC is 36 in. by 18 in., and L3BED is an L-Series 36 in. by 21 in. cart. The 72 in. multi-drawer cart is published as R5XLE and does not follow the same width letter.
The configuration number travels across widths
Within the single-bank R-Series carts, the same configuration number generally carries the same drawer mix at different widths. On the published 30, 48 and 60 in. listings, -3001 is two 3 in., three 4 in. and one 8 in. drawer, and -3003 is one each of 3, 4, 5, 6 and 8 in. That makes it easy to compare a narrow and a wide version of the same layout. It is not universal: the two 4 in. over three 6 in. layout is -3005 on the 30 in. cart and -3009 on the 48 and 60 in. carts. Confirm the exact mix and height on the listing before ordering.
Choosing width
Wide enough for the longest item, narrow enough that someone will push it.
On a stationary cabinet, width is limited by the wall. On a cart it is limited by the doorways, aisles and machine guarding it has to pass, and by how willing people are to push it. Both limits matter.
| Width | Line | Depths | Good for |
|---|---|---|---|
| 18 in. | L-Series | 21, 27 in. | Personal tool cart for one technician, tight cells |
| 24 in. | R-Series | 21, 27 in. | Compact 400 lb drawers beside a single machine |
| 30 in. | R-Series | 21, 27 in. | The practical middle; the widest choice of drawer, shelf and door layouts |
| 36 in. | R-Series and L-Series | 18, 24 in. (R); 21, 27 in. (L) | General maintenance and setup carts |
| 48 in. | R-Series single-bank and multi-drawer | 24, 27 in. | Long tooling stored flat; complete setup kits |
| 54 in. | L-Series | 21, 27 in. | High drawer count at the 100 lb rating |
| 60 in. | R-Series single-bank and multi-drawer | 24, 27 in. | Wide fixtures and dies, or two drawer columns in one cart |
| 72 in. | R-Series multi-drawer (R5XLE) | 24 in. | The largest kits, with 14 drawers in one unit |
Measure the longest item that has to lie flat and add two inches. Then measure the narrowest doorway, aisle or gap the loaded cart has to pass through on its usual route, including side handles. Buy the first width that clears the first number and still clears the second.
Single bank or multi-drawer
At 48 and 60 in., Rousseau offers two different cart designs. A single-bank cart (R5B) has full-width drawers, which is what you want for long items. A multi-drawer cart (R5G, R5D) splits the width into drawer columns, which gives more separate drawers in the same footprint. Choose single-bank when items are long, and multi-drawer when you need to separate tooling by job, operator or department.
Depth, aisles and drawer projection
A cart gets parked in the aisle. Plan for the drawer that is open in it.
Rousseau publishes cart depths of 18, 21, 24 and 27 in., though not every depth comes at every width. The drawers are full extension, so an open drawer sticks out roughly its own depth in front of the cart. A cart is also usually parked where the work is, which is often in an aisle or beside a machine, not against a wall.
- Cart depth
- 18, 21, 24 or 27 in. as ordered
- Drawer projection
- Roughly the drawer's own depth, since the slides are full extension
- Body space
- Allow about 30 in. for a person to stand and work at the open drawer
When deeper is worth it
The 27 in. depth adds real drawer volume and suits long tools, wide trays and fixture plates that run front to back. The cost is a cart that is harder to fit beside a machine and harder to steer in a narrow aisle. Take the deeper cart when the contents need it. If they do not, the shallower cart is easier to live with every day.
Height and building the drawer mix
Cart height stays near bench height. The drawer mix is where the cart earns its price.
Rousseau publishes R-Series mobile heights of 33-1/8, 37-1/2, 41-1/2, 43-1/8 and 45-1/2 in., and CustomMHS listings run from about 33 in. to 47 in. depending on width and configuration. L-Series carts run from 29-1/4 in. to 45-1/4 in. The single-bank R-Series carts at 48 and 60 in. are 37-1/2 in. tall on every published configuration.
That narrow range is deliberate. A cart that is pushed while loaded has to stay low enough to see over and stable enough not to tip at a floor joint. Take the overall height from the specific listing, since heights vary by configuration and are not encoded reliably in the model number.
Count drawers, not inches
The number of drawers decides how many separate categories the cart can hold. Two published 48 in. by 24 in. by 37-1/2 in. single-bank carts show the range:
| Model | Drawer mix | Drawers | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| R5BHE-3001 | (2) 3 in., (3) 4 in., (1) 8 in. | 6 | Small tooling and inserts with one deep drawer for bulk |
| R5BHE-3003 | One each of 3, 4, 5, 6 and 8 in. | 5 | Mixed kits where every category needs a different height |
| R5BHE-3009 | (2) 4 in., (3) 6 in. | 5 | Mostly mid-size items: hand tools, fittings |
| R5BHE-3015 | (1) 3 in., (3) 6 in., roll-out shelf | 4 + shelf | A cart that also needs a pull-out work surface |
| R5BHE-3013 | (1) 6 in. drawer over a door section | 1 + door | Mostly enclosed storage with one organized drawer |
How to size a drawer
Size each drawer to the tallest item it holds, plus about an inch. On a cart this matters more than on a cabinet, because the height is fixed near bench level and every wasted inch is a drawer you do not get.
Partitioned or open
Most Rousseau cart configurations are published as a partitioned and an open version under consecutive numbers. The open version costs less. Choose it only when a drawer holds one kind of thing or will be foamed. For mixed contents, the partitions keep items from sliding to the back of the drawer every time the cart is pushed, which matters more on a cart than on a stationary cabinet.
Casters, handles and moving a loaded cart
The part of the cart that decides whether it actually moves.
Rousseau publishes its mobile drawer cabinet casters in 4 in. and 6 in. sizes. It rates the 4 in. caster at 440 lb and the 6 in. caster at 1,100 lb, and offers them as fixed, swivel, or swivel with a total-lock brake on the wheel and swivel.
| Line | Casters as published | Brake or floor lock |
|---|---|---|
| Rousseau R-Series carts | 4 or 6 in. polyurethane; Rousseau rates 4 in. at 440 lb and 6 in. at 1,100 lb | Swivel with total-lock brake available; RB8E directional locking pedal optional |
| Strong Hold tool carts | 6 in. × 2 in. polyurethane on the 5 and 6-drawer carts and maintenance cart | Brakes listed |
| Strong Hold stainless cart | 8 in. × 2 in. ridged polyurethane swivel | Brakes listed |
| Strong Hold visible cart | 6 in. × 2 in. polyurethane | Not stated |
| Jamco YV-Series | 5 in. polyurethane; -S5 models use stainless rigs | Not stated |
| Little Giant mobile cabinets | Not stated on the listing; confirm on quote | Floor lock listed |
Check the loaded weight against the casters
- Empty weight
- From the listing or quote. Strong Hold publishes 539 lb for its 5-drawer cart and 934 lb for its 12-drawer maintenance cart.
- Contents
- Estimate drawer by drawer. Do not assume every drawer is at its rated maximum, and do not assume they are light.
- Caster check
- Compare the loaded weight to the caster rating. Many specifiers check against three casters rather than four, because a floor joint or a dropped bolt lifts one wheel off the floor.
Push force is a separate question
A cart can be well within its caster rating and still be hard to move. Larger wheels roll over joints and debris more easily, and polyurethane treads roll easier than hard plastic on concrete. If a loaded cart will be pushed long distances or up a ramp, favor 6 in. casters and a handle you can push with your weight behind it.
Handles and stability options
- Full-width handle. CustomMHS listings for the 30 in. and 60 in. R-Series carts describe a full-width ergonomic handle. On the 60 in. multi-drawer cart, tilting the handle up engages the integrated drawer lock-in.
- RB90 side handle. A wide-grip anodized aluminum handle for easier cart handling.
- RB92 front handles. Fit the front of 24 in. and 30 in. wide single cabinets.
- RB8E directional locking pedal. A foot pedal on 4 or 6 in. swivel casters that locks the swivel so the cart tracks straight.
- RB88 extended base. Rousseau recommends it for stability when a cabinet has fewer than four drawers or the load is not evenly distributed.
A full-extension drawer moves the cart's center of gravity forward by its whole depth. Pushing a loaded cart with a drawer out, or letting a drawer roll open while the cart moves, is how carts tip. Specify the lock-in mechanism and close every drawer before moving.
Steel tool carts and mobile cabinets
Fixed layouts, heavy plate tops and very high cart ratings.
Strong Hold and Little Giant build carts differently from Rousseau. The layouts are fixed rather than configured drawer by drawer, the bodies are heavy-gauge welded steel, and the cart ratings are high. They suit maintenance work, where the cart is also a bench and gets hit, loaded and leaned on.
| Model | Size W × D × H | Drawers | Published ratings |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3-TC-241-2/5-1DB | 36 × 24 × 36 in. (44 in. overall) | Two 13 × 20 × 6 in. and one 29 × 20 × 6 in. | Up to 400 lb per drawer |
| 3-TC-240-4/5-1DB | 36 × 24 × 36 in. (44 in. overall) | Four half-width 13 × 20 × 6 in. and one full-width 29 × 20 × 6 in. | 400 lb per drawer; 539 lb empty |
| 4-TC-241-6/5DB | 48 × 24 × 36 in. (44 in. overall) | Five 18 × 20 × 4 in. and one 18 × 20 × 6 in. | 400 lb per drawer; 600 lb shelf; 592 lb empty |
| 4-TC-240-12/5DB | 48 × 24 × 36 in. (44 in. overall) | Twelve drawers, 19-9/16 × 20-1/8 in. | Drawer rating not published on the listing; confirm on quote |
| 5-TC-3D-242-12/5DB maintenance cart | 61 × 24 × 34 in. (42 in. overall) | Ten 19 × 20 × 4 in. and two 19 × 20 × 6 in., plus a side compartment with two shelves | 400 lb per drawer; 934 lb empty |
The published Strong Hold carts share a 12-gauge body and a 7-gauge top, and most use a 3-point locking system that takes a padlock; the 3-drawer cart and the maintenance cart list padlock lugs. Strong Hold publishes a 99-year warranty on the 6-drawer 4-TC-241-6/5DB.
Mobile cabinets without drawers
| Product | Construction | Published capacity | Storage |
|---|---|---|---|
| Little Giant 48 in. mobile cabinets (MB, MM, MH, MJ families) | All-welded 12-gauge steel | 3,600 lb | Locking doors, a padlockable drawer, or both depending on model; floor lock listed on most models |
| Little Giant 48 in. mobile bench cabinet (-3 versions) | All-welded 12-gauge steel | 3,600 lb | Center shelf; steel, vinyl, hardboard or butcher block top |
| Strong Hold visible tool storage cart 4-TC-LD-243-FLP | 12-gauge body, 7-gauge top, 14-gauge shelves | 1,200 lb shelf capacity | Three adjustable shelves, forklift pockets |
| Strong Hold all-welded countertop cabinets 23-202CA and 33-202CA | 12-gauge body, 14-gauge shelves | 1,900 lb per shelf | Two adjustable shelves |
When to choose these over a Rousseau cart
Choose a welded steel tool cart when the cart is also the bench, when the contents are heavy and few rather than small and many, and when the layout will not change. Choose a Rousseau cart when the contents are many distinct small items that need compartments, or when you want to pick the exact drawer heights.
Stainless steel carts
A stainless top is not a stainless cart.
Two carts on this page are stainless throughout. They are the right answer in washdown, food, pharmaceutical and cleanroom-adjacent areas where painted steel corrodes, sheds or is not allowed.
| Model | Size | Construction | Published ratings |
|---|---|---|---|
| Strong Hold 4-TC-261-VS-SS | 48 W × 26 D × 41 H in. | 12-gauge stainless body, 7-gauge top, 7-gauge side vise shelf, 3 in. side and back guards | 2,000 lb cart capacity; 8 × 2 in. polyurethane swivel casters with brakes; 3-point lock |
| Jamco YV136 (U5 and S5) | 18 × 36 × 34 in. | 16-gauge polished stainless, 3-sided enclosure | 1,200 lb; 5 in. polyurethane casters |
| Jamco YV236 (U5 and S5) | 24 × 36 × 34 in. | 16-gauge polished stainless, 3-sided enclosure | 1,200 lb; 5 in. polyurethane casters |
Neither listing publishes the stainless grade. If your sanitation program, chemical exposure or customer audit specifies a grade, ask for it in writing at quote stage rather than assuming it.
The stainless top trap
Rousseau offers a stainless steel top (RC35) for its painted steel carts. It is a #4 brushed stainless surface over a particle board core, 1-3/4 in. thick. That makes a good clean work surface on a painted cart. It does not make the cart washdown-rated, because the body is still painted steel and the core is not built for water. If the cart will be hosed down or wiped with aggressive chemicals, buy a stainless cart.
For cleanroom carts, benches and shelving beyond this page, see the Cleanroom & Stainless Equipment guide.
Tops, liners and foam
Rousseau carts only. Cheap on the order, inconvenient to add later.
The components at the bottom of the category page fit Rousseau carts. They turn a bare drawer cart into a work surface and keep tools from sliding and marking each other while the cart moves.
Top
Laminated wood butcher block
A forgiving surface for bench work and assembly on the cart.
Top
Steel with non-slip rubber mat
Takes impact while the mat grips and cushions parts.
Top
Galvanized steel
Corrosion resistance in humid or exposed areas.
Top, RC35
Stainless steel
#4 brushed stainless over a particle board core, 1-3/4 in. thick, in 16-gauge or 12-gauge (-12 suffix).
Top
Marine edge stainless
A raised edge that contains spills on the work surface.
Liner
PVC drawer liner
Basic protection for the drawer bottom and the parts in it.
Liner, RG41
Foam protection liner
Blue foam, 1/4 in. thick. Cannot be used with partitions or dividers.
Foam, RG42
Tool foam
Holds each tool in its own pocket so a missing one is visible.
Foam, RG43
Collet foam
Holds collets upright and separated.
Match the top to the cart size
The RC35 stainless top is published in 30 × 27, 36 × 24, 48 × 24, 48 × 27, 60 × 24, 60 × 27, 72 × 24 and 72 × 27 in. sizes. There is no listed 24 in. wide size, and no 30 × 21 or 36 × 18 size. If you are buying a 24 in. cart, a 21 in. deep 30 in. cart or an 18 in. deep 36 in. cart and want a stainless top, confirm availability before you order the cart.
The RG41 foam liner cannot be used with partitions or dividers. Decide drawer by drawer. Foam the drawers that hold controlled or precision tooling, and order the rest partitioned. Buying a partitioned configuration and then foaming every drawer pays for partitions you will remove.
Locks and drawer safety
Security for the contents, and drawers that stay shut in transit.
Rousseau lock options
| Part | What it does |
|---|---|
| L3 | Key lock that locks all drawers at once |
| L50 | Code lock opened with a 4 to 8 digit access code |
| L100 | Keyless unlocking by NFC transponder or smartphone |
| LP | Safety hasp that locks all drawers at once with a padlock |
| RB10 | Padlock bar that locks all drawers, usable even when the cabinet is against a wall |
| RB15 | Prevents more than one drawer opening at the same time |
| Integrated lock-in (A) | Prevents a drawer from opening by itself; closes with a push |
On a cart, the lock-in mechanism is not optional in practice. A drawer that rolls open while the cart crosses a floor joint shifts the load, can catch a doorframe, and on a loaded cart can tip it. RB15 adds a second layer by stopping a second drawer opening while one is out.
Other lines
Strong Hold carts use a 3-point locking system with padlock provision. Little Giant mobile cabinets use padlockable doors and drawers depending on the model. In both cases the padlock is supplied by you, so decide on keying before the carts arrive.
Keyed alike, keyed differently, or master keyed costs nothing to specify on the purchase order and is a nuisance to change later. Shared maintenance carts usually want keyed alike with a master. Carts holding controlled tooling want keyed differently or a code or NFC lock you can revoke.
Common and costly mistakes
Ten things that go wrong on drawer cart orders.
- Buying the L-Series for heavy tooling. A 100 lb drawer holding collets or fixture plates will fail slowly. The heaviest drawer decides the line.
- Reading the drawer rating as the cart rating. Six 400 lb drawers do not make a 2,400 lb cart. Check the loaded weight against the casters.
- Choosing width without measuring the route. A cart that will not fit through the doorway to the press is a stationary cabinet.
- Buying a cabinet when you needed drawers. Several mobile cabinets on this page have one drawer or none.
- Treating a stainless top as a stainless cart. The RC35 top has a particle board core on a painted body. Washdown areas need a stainless cart.
- Ordering open drawers for mixed contents. On a cart, every push slides loose parts to the back of the drawer.
- Foaming drawers that were ordered partitioned. The RG41 foam liner cannot be used with partitions or dividers.
- Loading heavy drawers high. Heavy items belong in the lowest drawers, on a cart even more than on a cabinet.
- Moving the cart with a drawer open. Specify the lock-in and make closing every drawer part of the routine.
- Comparing quotes on dimensions alone. Two carts with the same outside dimensions can differ in drawer count, partitions and casters. Compare full model numbers, including the configuration digits.
Frequently asked questions
The questions that come up most often on drawer cart quotes.
What is the difference between the Rousseau R-Series and L-Series carts?
The drawer rating. R-Series carts carry 400 lb per drawer and are offered from 24 in. to 72 in. wide. L-Series carts are listed at 100 lb per drawer, in 18, 36 and 54 in. widths, as the lighter, lower-cost line. Choose by the heaviest drawer you will load, not by footprint or price.
How much weight can a drawer cart carry in total?
Rousseau does not publish a total cart capacity for its drawer carts. The per-drawer rating covers one drawer and its slides. The limit for the whole loaded cart is the casters: Rousseau rates its 4 in. caster at 440 lb and its 6 in. caster at 1,100 lb. Some Strong Hold and Little Giant units publish a cart capacity, for example 2,000 lb on the Strong Hold stainless cart and 3,600 lb on the Little Giant 48 in. mobile cabinets.
What do the letters in a Rousseau cart model number mean?
R5B is an R-Series single-bank cart, R5G and R5D are multi-drawer carts, and L3B is an L-Series cart. The fourth character is the width (C 24, D 30, E 36, H 48, K 60 in.) and the fifth is the depth (C 18, D 21, E 24, G 27 in.). The four digits after the dash identify the height group and drawer configuration, with odd and even numbers usually pairing as partitioned and open.
Should I order drawers partitioned or open?
Partitioned for any drawer that holds mixed items, because a moving cart slides loose parts to the back. Open for drawers that will hold one large item or will be lined with foam, since the RG41 foam liner cannot be used with partitions or dividers.
What casters do the carts use?
Rousseau publishes 4 in. and 6 in. polyurethane casters in fixed, swivel and swivel with total-lock brake versions, plus an RB8E directional locking pedal. Strong Hold lists 6 × 2 in. polyurethane casters with brakes on its 5 and 6-drawer carts and 8 × 2 in. casters on its stainless cart. Jamco lists 5 in. polyurethane casters on the YV-Series.
How wide an aisle do I need?
Allow the cart depth, plus roughly the drawer's own depth for an open full-extension drawer, plus about 30 in. for the person working at it. A 27 in. deep cart needs close to 7 ft; a 21 in. deep cart needs about 70 in.
Is a cart with a stainless top suitable for washdown?
No. The Rousseau RC35 stainless top is stainless over a particle board core, fitted to a painted steel cart. It makes a clean work surface. For washdown, choose a stainless cart such as the Strong Hold 4-TC-261-VS-SS or the Jamco YV-Series.
What stainless grade are the stainless carts?
The grade is not published on either listing. Strong Hold publishes 12-gauge stainless for the 4-TC-261-VS-SS body and Jamco publishes 16-gauge polished stainless for the YV-Series. If your program specifies a grade, ask for it in writing at quote stage.
Which carts have drawers and which do not?
Rousseau carts and the Strong Hold 3, 5, 6 and 12-drawer carts and maintenance cart are drawer carts. The Little Giant 48 in. mobile cabinets have locking doors, one padlockable drawer, or both. The Strong Hold visible tool storage cart, the Strong Hold countertop cabinets and the stainless carts are shelf units.
Can I add a work surface to a Rousseau cart?
Yes. Rousseau offers laminated wood butcher block, steel with a non-slip rubber mat, galvanized steel, stainless and marine edge stainless tops. Check the top is published in your cart's width and depth before ordering, since not every size is listed.
How do I stop drawers opening while the cart is moving?
Specify the integrated lock-in mechanism, which prevents a drawer opening by itself, and add RB15 if you want to stop a second drawer opening while one is out. Close every drawer before moving the cart.
Can I get a configuration that is not listed?
Yes, for Rousseau carts. Tell us the cart width, depth and the drawer heights you need, or use the Rousseau configurator, and we will quote the model with pricing and lead time.
Quick-reference tables
Everything above, condensed.
Published Rousseau cart specifications
| Specification | R-Series | L-Series |
|---|---|---|
| Drawer capacity | 400 lb per drawer | 100 lb per drawer |
| Drawer extension | Full extension | Full extension |
| Widths on CustomMHS | 24, 30, 36, 48, 60, 72 in. | 18, 36, 54 in. |
| Depths | 18, 21, 24, 27 in. (varies by width) | 21, 27 in. |
| Heights | Approx. 33 to 47 in. by configuration | 29-1/4 to 45-1/4 in. |
| Casters | 4 in. (440 lb) or 6 in. (1,100 lb) polyurethane, per Rousseau | Confirm on quote |
| Warranty | Lifetime on the drawer rolling system | Confirm on quote |
Accessory part numbers at a glance
| Function | Parts |
|---|---|
| Tops | RC35 stainless (16-ga or 12-ga) · marine edge stainless · butcher block · steel with rubber mat · galvanized steel |
| Liners and foam | PVC liner · RG41 foam protection liner · RG42 tool foam · RG43 collet foam |
| Locks | L3 key · L50 code · L100 NFC · LP safety hasp · RB10 padlock bar |
| Drawer safety | Integrated lock-in (A) · RB15 one drawer at a time |
| Moving the cart | RB8E directional locking pedal · RB88 extended base · RB90 side handle · RB92 front handles (24 and 30 in. wide) |
Specify-it checklist
- Heaviest single drawerDense tooling in any drawer means R-Series at 400 lb. Light contents throughout can go L-Series.
- Drawers, shelves or doorsMany small items need drawers. Bulky or cased items need shelves or a door section.
- Longest item lying flatSets the minimum width. Add 2 in.
- Narrowest point on the routeSets the maximum width, including handles.
- Aisle where it parksSets the maximum depth. Cart depth + drawer projection + 30 in.
- Tallest item per categorySets each drawer height. Item height plus about 1 in.
- Loaded weightEmpty weight plus contents, checked against the casters.
- Washdown or chemicalsStainless cart, not a stainless top. Ask for the grade.
- Work surfacePick a top and confirm it is published in your cart size.
- Security and keyingPick the lock and state keyed alike, differently or master keyed on the PO. Add the lock-in.
Send us the drawer list
Tell us what goes in each drawer, the heaviest drawer, the longest item that has to lie flat, the route the cart travels and the aisle where it parks. We will choose the line, build the drawer mix and quote the model number. Quotes are reviewed by material handling specialists, typically within one business day.
Browse modular drawer carts · Get a fast quote
No bots. No guesswork. Real experts.
Related guides. Rousseau R-Series Drawer Cabinets · Cabinets & Modular Drawer Storage · Carts, Trucks & Dollies · Cleanroom & Stainless Equipment · Workbenches & Workstations
Sources. Rousseau published mobile drawer cabinet data, including caster ratings, locks and accessories (rousseau.com) · CustomMHS product listings for Rousseau R-Series and L-Series carts, Rousseau tops and liners, Strong Hold, Jamco and Little Giant · Strong Hold published product data for the 4-TC-241-6/5DB.
Disclaimer. Educational content, not a compliance assessment or engineering advice. Dimensions, weights, configurations, capacities, lead times and pricing change; confirm current specifications on the product listing or quote before ordering.
